Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: SoccerInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  Sports e-mail alerts  |  RSS

Schmid, Huckerby Honored

No surprises: MLS announced this morning that Columbus's Sigi Schmid is the coach of the year and Darren Huckerby is the newcomer of the year (given to a first-year MLS player with previous professional experience). DCU's Luciano Emilio won it last year, the first time it was awarded.

Schmid beat out Houston's Dominic Kinnear and San Jose's Frank Yallop. Huckerby was favored over Dallas's Andre Rocha and Kansas City's Claudio Lopez.

Previous coaching winners:

2007: Preki - Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley - Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear - San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis - Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan - Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol - New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler - Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid - Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley - Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena - D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen - Tampa Bay Mutiny

By Steve Goff  |  November 11, 2008; 10:11 AM ET
Categories:  MLS  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Morning Kickaround
Next: Donovan in Munich



Posted by: OWNTF | November 12, 2008 9:00 AM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company