Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: SoccerInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  Sports e-mail alerts  |  RSS

Video: Messi injures ankle in Barcelona victory

Barcelona handed Atletico Madrid its second defeat in four days, 2-1, but Lionel Messi, who scored early for Barca, was taken down during added time and left with ligament damage in his right ankle:

By Steve Goff  | September 20, 2010; 12:32 AM ET
Categories:  Barcelona, Spain  | Tags:  Lionel Messi  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: American soccer players abroad: 3 goals
Next: Monday kickaround: Jay DeMerit, Lionel Messi, Marcelo Gallardo, WPS playoffs

Comments

The jinx of the Special One strikes again.

"Shut up, Josep!"

Posted by: troy6 | September 20, 2010 7:41 AM | Report abuse

There was a Washington soccer team involved in a playoff yesterday . . . .

Posted by: OWNTF | September 20, 2010 7:59 AM | Report abuse

That was NASTY.

On a brighter note though, I love the green uniforms.

Posted by: fedssocr | September 20, 2010 8:32 AM | Report abuse

Better than their yellow ones...

Posted by: Reignking | September 20, 2010 8:56 AM | Report abuse

They need to suspend Ujfalusi for at least 5 games for that crap tackel. Ahole.

Posted by: leetn | September 20, 2010 10:35 AM | Report abuse

saw a pic of his InstaSwell ankle. I did the same thing to my ankle Junior year of high school riding a skateboard... 6 weeks on crutches and a lengthy return to normalcy... ouch.

Posted by: DadRyan | September 20, 2010 11:09 AM | Report abuse

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBtIkS1PElo

Watch the 3rd replay at 45 second mark.

Ujfalusi gets the ball and his foot, on the way down, after getting the ball, is what catches Messi in the ankle.

Posted by: vmrg1974 | September 20, 2010 11:56 AM | Report abuse

who knew the CA Gov could call a game so well?

Posted by: Section107 | September 20, 2010 12:19 PM | Report abuse

vmrg1974 - I don't know how you can claim Ujfalusi got the ball since 1) the reply you specifically cite doesn't show any contact between his foot and the ball (in fact, it physically can't show that, since Messi's body blocks the view from that angle); 2) Ujfalusi comes in from the left of that shot, heading towards the right, while Messi is pushing the ball forward and left, and the ball *continues to go forward and left rather than off to the right. You're the only person I've seen suggest he actually got ball.

Not that it matters. Nowhere in the LotG does it indicate that if you get ball, even if you get ball first, what you do to a player can't be considered reckless or SFP.

Also worth noting was the heckling Messi got from the Atletico fans, audible on the English ESPN broadcast (I watched it live yesterday afternoon). Even as he was being stretchered down the steps into the tunnel, the whistling and hooting was quite prominent. Stay classy, Atletico fans.


Posted by: christopher_a_metzler | September 20, 2010 3:04 PM | Report abuse


ADDENDUM: (I really wish WaPo used blog software from *this century*, so people could edit posts)

vmrg1974 -- The replay not at 45 sec, but at 49 sec, does indeed show that the ball bouncing upward hits the underside of Ujfalusi's foot and bounces down on the same path. So after seeing that, I agree with you.

A photo of the moment of the foul:

http://estaticos01.marca.com/imagenes/2010/09/20/g2009.jpg

It's amazing the damage wasn't worse.

Posted by: christopher_a_metzler | September 20, 2010 3:08 PM | Report abuse

Just because he grazed the ball on the way to his ankle doesn't mean that he was trying to play the ball. And you are responsible for your follow through even if you touch the ball first, particularly if the studs are exposed.

The angle he took, the deliberate stamping of the follow through, and overall force of the leg swing, lead me to believe he knew exactly what he was doing, and that his intention was to hack him down.

I watched the entire second half of that game and counted at least a dozen hard, intentional fouls by Atletico. That was their gameplan: press hard and, if you can get close enough, foul hard. That ref should've given more cards leading up to the challenge then maybe it wouldn't have happened.

Posted by: uranderson | September 20, 2010 7:13 PM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge washingtonpost.com's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.




characters remaining

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company