Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: SoccerInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  Sports e-mail alerts  |  RSS

Dallas' Hyndman is MLS coach of the year

By Steve Goff

Schellas Hyndman, who oversaw the rejuvenation of FC Dallas in his second full season since leaving the college ranks, has been named the MLS coach of the year, finishing ahead of New York's Hans Backe and Real Salt Lake's Jason Kreis.

With a modest roster, Dallas had a 12-4-14 regular season record for third place in the competitive Western Conference, lost just once at home, and conceded the third-fewest goals in the league. FCD will play at Los Angeles in the conference final Sunday. In doing so, Hyndman helped rekindle interest in the club and the league in Dallas, one of MLS's softest markets.

Kreis led reigning champion RSL to the second slot in the West and the league record for fewest goals conceded. In his first year at New York, Backe guided the star-packed Red Bulls to first place in the Eastern Conference.

As a reminder, MLS has declined to release details about the voting breakdown for postseason awards, a policy that fails to satisfy curiosity about the margin of victory and undermines the credibility of the process. We're not questioning the validity of Hyndman's honor; he is quite deserving and was the Insider's first choice. But the league's transparency needs to improve. Hopefully, this flawed system will be fixed next year.

By Steve Goff  | November 11, 2010; 9:56 AM ET
Categories:  MLS  | Tags:  MLS  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Thursday kickaround: Edu injury, USA roster, Under-20 guest coaches, MLS honor, TV listings
Next: Video: In Italy, a dramatic goal, a delirious announcer ('Mamma Mia!') and a tumbling celebration


Posted by: DadRyan | November 11, 2010 10:31 AM | Report abuse

Who is eligible to vote on these things?

Posted by: OWNTF | November 11, 2010 11:56 AM | Report abuse

To quote Tennessee Williams:

Posted by: I-270Exit1 | November 11, 2010 12:29 PM | Report abuse

There is no objective voting process for these MLS awards; MLS conducts what really can only be described as a poll among various segments (club execs, media, etc) and then Garber and his staff decide to whom they wish to award the honor.

Like so much that MLS does, it is disengenuous, manipulative and driven by political considerations. For example, with the coach of the year, they wouldn't want to leave FCD with no awards in 2010 given the very successful season they had, and certainly Schellas is not undeserving of the honor. They also look at the bonus that they may have paid should a player be awarded one of the honors.

The problem is the same with most things tha MLS does: the truth is not an absolute wth them. It is a commodity that is to be rationed as they seem fit.

Posted by: lgm6986 | November 12, 2010 6:33 AM | Report abuse

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.

characters remaining

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company