Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
On Twitter: TerpsInsider and PostSports  |  Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS

Five Football Players Enroll

Let me drop this football tidbit here amid all the basketball back-and-forth:

COLLEGE PARK, Md. – The University of Maryland football team has added five newcomers to its roster, head coach Ralph Friedgen announced Thursday.

DL DeOnte Arnett, DL Cody Blue, LB Darin Drakeford, DL Zachariah Kerr and LB Avery Murray enrolled in school this week and will be eligible for spring football practice which opens on March 24.

All five players will have four years of eligibility beginning in the fall. They should give the Terps a boost on the defensive side of the ball this spring where seven starters must be replaced, including two defensive linemen (Jeremy Navarre and Mack Frost) and three linebackers (Trey Covington, Moise Fokou, and Dave Philistin).

Blue and Kerr each signed National Letters of Intent in 2008 and attended Fork Union (Va.) Military Academy in the fall. Arnett, Drakeford and Murray completed high school a semester early.

By Eric Prisbell  |  January 29, 2009; 6:17 PM ET
Categories:  Football  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Halftime Inspiration
Next: Catching Up With Miami


"All five players will have four years of eligibility beginning in the fall."

That sounds wrong, it seems to be that there five year clock should begin when the second semester starts and they are considered officially enrolled. Thus they would be eligibile for five springs (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013) and five falls (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013). Thus they should be able to redshirt and still play four years after that. What they couldn't do is play a spring sport after they finished up as a 5th year senior. Roughly their eligibility should run out in about five years, around Jan 30. 2014.

Posted by: philibusters | January 29, 2009 6:41 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company