Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

FixCam: Week In Preview

Note: Please upgrade your Flash plug-in to view our enhanced content.


It's time again for the FixCam Week in Preview. For those of you unwilling or unable to check out the video above, here's a sampling of what to expect this week.

Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick (D) formally endorses Sen. Barack Obama (D-Ill.) tomorrow in Boston. This will be a double dip for Obama: not only does he get the endorsement of a high-profile governor who ran on a message of reform and against the Democratic party establishment (sound familiar?) but he also benefits from the Boston media market's bleed into southern New Hampshire. The Patrick endorsement will be all over the television screen of New Hampshire residents -- a nice side benefit for Obama.

Later in the week -- Friday to be exact -- Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-N.Y.) turns 60, one week to the day after The Fix's mom hit that same milestone. Remember that while Clinton's greatest strength is how well she runs among women, her weakest segment within that subgroup are with her contemporaries.

And, on the Republican side, former Gov. Mitt Romney (Mass.) keeps up his blistering travel schedule -- stopping in South Carolina on Wednesday, New Hampshire Thursday, Iowa Friday and Florida on Saturday. Talk about running the gauntlet.

By Chris Cillizza  |  October 22, 2007; 5:12 PM ET
Categories:  Eye on 2008  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Poll Tries to Measure Colbert Effect
Next: Va. Senate: Davis Expected to Opt Out of Race

Comments

Well, you are a profiteer, Dave. Do you ever feel badly about how you're making money off th war while others are dying for it? I'm just curious.

Iran is not running out of oil. that just want to sell it for a profit instead of using it at home. Canada is problematic [quite large]. Syria is more about Israel than oil, but there is some there. Venezuela, I wouldn't be at all surprised, Chavez is getting the same demonization as Abenadinnerjacket.Althouth it would certainly stir up a hornets nest among our allies down there.

Posted by: drindl | October 23, 2007 1:25 PM | Report abuse

Iran says they are running out of oil and that is why they need nuclear energy. Syria is number 29 on the list of oil reserves so the cost/benefit ratio for invading them would not work. Canada on the other hand is number 2 on the list. They would be a lot closer to invade as would Venezuela (# 7 plus a guy we don't like running it). Boy, the administration must be really have no business sense if they are overlooking these golden opportunities so close to home.

I have stock in Cisco. The US military uses Cisco technology for their communications. Cisco is up big time in the last 5 years. I feel like such a profiteer.

Posted by: dave | October 23, 2007 11:40 AM | Report abuse

Why don't you tell us all how many books you've written, dave, how much you've achieved, and then maybe someone will listen/care what you think about Doris Lessing. As far her remarks about 'our terrorist attack were worse than yours' -so what, every country thinks that.

And as for the remark that George Bush has profited from the war, your point is? Of course he has. His father's company, the Carlyle Group, has made billions off it already.

Here's a handy chart:

http://www.hereinreality.com/carlyle.html

But google it yourself. it's all out there in plain sight.

And don't forget that Cheney has made more than $90 million from his Halliburton stock. This war is paying off big time for some -- and we the taxpayers are footing the whole bill, because it's permanent war fought with very expenisve mercernaries, to avoid the nasty political realities of a draft.

Of course it's all borrowed and our children will pay it--but that's the price of our own stupidity and ignorance. Next it will be Iran-- I've been telling you that for months -- it's been on their agenda, quite publicly, for years now. And then Syria. Anyplace with lots of oil and a an independent government--can't let that stand--gotta have it all.

Posted by: drindl | October 23, 2007 8:03 AM | Report abuse

In another example of less than honorable people being honored with a prestigious award, it appears that newly awarded nobel laureate Doris Lessing has worn out her 15 minutes already. She said the Sept. 11 attacks in the United States were "not that terrible" when compared to attacks by the IRA in Britain. September 11 was terrible, but if one goes back over the history of the IRA, what happened to the Americans wasn't that terrible. Some Americans will think I'm crazy. Many people died, two prominent buildings fell, but it was neither as terrible nor as extraordinary as they think. They're a very naive people, or they pretend to be," she said in an interview published Sunday. Other musings inclided "I hate Iran, I hate the Iranian government, it's a cruel and evil government. Look what happened to its president in New York, they called him evil and cruel in Columbia University. Marvelous! They should have said more to him! Nobody criticizes him, because of oil." She also had words about Bush, "As for Bush, he's a world calamity. Everyone is tired of this man. Either he is stupid or he is very clever, although you have to remember he is a member of a social class which has profited from wars."

She was praised by the nobel judges for her "skepticism, fire and visionary power." Uh hun.

Posted by: dave | October 22, 2007 10:06 PM | Report abuse

mark_in_austin,
I think that endorsements may be the single most overrated aspect in a campaign. Do people really say to themselves, "Gee, the governor in the next state endorsed this person. Ding! Now I know who to vote for!" Maybe there is, in some cases, money that winds up heading to the endorsee from the endorser. But I have serious doubts that endorsements do anything.

Posted by: dave | October 22, 2007 9:48 PM | Report abuse

RUSH:

"It's going to be a long drawn out knockout slugfest, and we can't predict the direction the filth will fly, the dirt will go. But if Rudy's the nominee, make no mistake, they're already hammering Hillary. This whole debate last night was about Hillary. I don't think our guys are going to shy away from it at all. In fact, I think most of our guys in the Republican field want to run against Hillary precisely because of things like this, because it is a gold mine, it's a golden opportunity."

pARTISANSHIP THE GOP WANTS. he claims

Posted by: RUFUS11_33 | October 22, 2007 7:29 PM | Report abuse

i've no doubt the Fix's mom is hundred times nicer and probably has more skills than that other person turning her age.
happy birthday to your mom.
I am happy that Patrick is endorsing Obama tomorrow. i figured he would as I believe they are friends and share the talented Axelrod as an advisor.
I really respect Duval Patrick. His endorsement is worth gold and I know the clintons were probably applying their usual charming ways, i.e. threats and arm twisting tactics, to get him to endorse the wicked witch.
But, Patrick has a spine and stood up for the person who is the best candidate, obama.
So many spineless democrats have caved to the Clintons instead of standing up for their principles and I have no use for them.
Duval Patrick is a rare and courageous man to stand up to the Clintons and follow his own mind.
Thanks Duval Patrick

Posted by: vwcat | October 22, 2007 7:16 PM | Report abuse

I wonder what the Clinton campaign has lined up to take the wind out of Obama's sail.

Posted by: urban4 | October 22, 2007 6:16 PM | Report abuse

On topic, Boko and Blarg, will this endorsement have a probable effect?

Posted by: mark_in_austin | October 22, 2007 6:01 PM | Report abuse

Posted by: mark_in_austin | October 22, 2007 6:00 PM | Report abuse

Looks like Darth Cheney and his nasty neocons may get their wish.... bomb, bomb, bomb Iran, if not this week, then soon.

Joe Lieberman and other couch hawks are priming the powder keg, Turkey may provide the spark...

http://whathappenedtomycountry.blogspot.com

Posted by: Truth_Hunter | October 22, 2007 5:46 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company