Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

About Chris  |    @TheFix  @TheHyperFix  @FixAaron  @FixFelicia  |   Facebook  |  Fast Fix  |  RSS Feeds RSS

Rick Scott wins Florida governor's race

Wealthy businessman Rick Scott (R) will be the next governor of Florida after state Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink (D) conceded this morning, handing Republicans a victory in one of the marquee gubernatorial contests in the country.

Sink's concession came as raw vote totals showed her trailing Scott by roughly 50,000 votes out of more than five million cast.

Florida was regarded by both national parties as a major priority and Democrats were confident of victory following Scott's late August primary victory as polling suggested he was seen as deeply flawed by a majority of the electorate.

Scott's win means that Republicans claimed victory in nearly every one of the large population states that hosted a gubernatorial contest. While Democrats turned California from red to blue and held on to the New York governorship, Republicans won in Florida, Texas, Ohio and Pennsylvania.

Scott's victory also has major implications for the 2011 congressional redistricting as the Sunshine State is slated to gain two seats and Republicans now control the governorship as well as the state House and state Senate.

Democrats did get some good news this morning as Democrats Peter Shumlin and Dan Malloy won the Vermont and Connecticut governor's races, respectively. Republicans claimed the Maine governor's race as Paul LePage won a narrow victory.

Republicans have netted six seats so far in the governor's races.

The remaining uncalled governors races are in Connecticut, Illinois, Minnesota and Oregon.

By Chris Cillizza  | November 3, 2010; 12:12 PM ET
Categories:  Governors  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: What did the 2010 election mean?
Next: Live blogging President Obama's day-after press conference

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company