Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity

House Democrats Reveal Their "Frontline"

In the 2006 election, Democrats didn't lose a single House member to defeat, an unblemished record that was credited to a program aimed at funneling funds to endangered incumbents early and often.

Known as "Frontline," the program was so effective at helping otherwise endangered incumbents that is allowed the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee to play offense in a number of GOP-held seats that wound up turning over. Pennsylvania's 4th District, New Hampshire's 2nd District and Minnesota's 1st District jump to mind.

Given the successes of Frontline in 2006, it's not surprising that Democrats are quickly reviving the program for 2008. Today the DCCC released the names of the 29 lawmakers who are on the Frontline list -- a first glance at the lawmakers considered by their own party to be most at-risk of losing next year.

"Our Frontline Members inspired the confidence of their constituents during their campaigns for Congress," said Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-Fla.), who will lead the program. "They are our Majority Makers."

A full list of the Frontline team is below, but here's a few quick notes:

* 24 of the 29 Members (83 percent) are freshmen.

* Indiana, New York and Pennsylvania each have three seats on the list -- the most of any states.

* Rep. Leonard Boswell (Iowa), who has held the 3rd District since 1996, makes the list, but freshman Iowa Reps. Dave Loebsack and Bruce Braley don't.

* New Hampshire freshman Rep. Paul Hodes is a Frontline member but fellow Granite State freshman Rep. Carol Shea Porter isn't. Hodes won with 53 percent while Shea Porter took 51 percent.

FULL FRONTLINE LIST (* denotes freshmen)

Rep. Jason Altimire (Pa.)*
Rep. Michael Arcuri (N.Y.)*
Rep. John Barrow (Ga.)
Rep. Melissa Bean (Ill.)
Rep. Leonard Boswell (Iowa)
Rep. Chris Carney (Pa.)*
Rep. Joe Courtney (Conn.)*
Rep. Joe Donnelly (Ind.)*
Rep. Chet Edwards (Texas)
Rep. Brad Ellsworth (Ind.)*
Rep. Gabrielle Gifford (Ariz.)*
Rep. Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.)*
Rep. John Hall (N.Y.)*
Rep. Baron Hill (Ind.)*
Rep. Paul Hodes (N.H.)*
Rep. Steve Kagen (Wisc.)*
Rep. Ron Klein (Fla.)*
Rep. Nick Lamspon (Texas)*
Rep. Tim Mahoney (Fla.)
Rep. Jim Marshall (Ga.)
Rep. Jerry McNerney (Calif.)*
Rep. Harry Mitchell (Ariz.)*
Rep. Chris Murphy (Conn.)*
Rep. Patrick Murphy (Pa.)*
Rep. Ciro Rodriguez (Texas)*
Rep. Heath Shuler (N.C.)*
Rep. Zack Space (Ohio)*
Rep. Tim Walz (Minn.)*
Rep. John Yarmuth (Ky.)*

By Chris Cillizza  |  February 15, 2007; 1:24 PM ET
Categories:  House  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Chasing Big Money: The Democrats
Next: The Line: Another Early Look at the Senate Playing Field

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company