Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Lisa's Favorite Sites

WJLA metro crash coverage cops national Murrow award

[This blog post has been updated.]

Washington's ABC affiliated TV station WJLA has been awarded a national Edward R. Murrow Award by the Radio Television Digital News Association, for its coverage of the rush-hour DC Metro train crash of June 22, 2009.

The Murrow was awarded for the Allbritton-owned station in the category of best video of breaking news coverage in a large television market.

The coverage was selected from among 14 regional award winners announced earlier this spring. It was one of 89 television, radio and online awards bestowed on 59 news organizations, announced Wednesday.

Among national newscasts, NBC News snagged five Murrow Awards, including the trophy for overall excellence among network TV newscasts. NBC News also won for best breaking news, best writing, and best hard-news reporting.

CBS copped four awards, including feature reporting and investigative reporting nods which went to "60 Minutes" and news documentary and news series wins for CBS News.

"All of us at ABC7/WJLA-TV are extremely proud of this honor," WJLA station manager Bill Lord said Wednesday in a statement.

Watch the winning video here.

A big winner in radio included WTOP; you can read Paul Farhi's coverage here.

By Lisa de Moraes  |  June 16, 2010; 4:52 PM ET
Categories:  Local TV  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Michaele Salahi: A "Real Housewives" star is born
Next: More than 32 million tune in to Obama speech on oil spill


Well deserved. JLA is the only station in the market that's really making an effort to keep a true local newscast going, with the others going to tabloid news or repackaging national stories with a couple of local anchors to introduce tape. Congrats.

Posted by: vtavgjoe | June 16, 2010 2:40 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company