Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
Lisa's Favorite Sites
Posted at 12:37 PM ET, 01/11/2011

Fox announces 'American Idol' launch schedule

By Lisa de Moraes

"American Idol," and its new judges, kicks off Wednesday, Jan. 19. (Fox)





Can Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez compete with Bristol Palin, or will ABC's "Dancing with the Stars" finally depose Fox's "American Idol" as the country's most popular show? "Idol" is returning this month minus Simon Cowell - the sun around which all the other "Idol" planets have revolved for nine seasons.

Fox insisted this morning that sole surviving judge Randy Jackson, along with newcomers Tyler and Lopez, are a "triple threat of credibility, chemistry, and talent." Based on the clips shown to TV critics here at Winter TV Press Tour 2011, that translates to "they did not embarrass themselves during auditions." Their press-tour session begins today at 10:15 a.m. Pasadena time.

Meanwhile, Fox wants to help you set your calendars for next few weeks: Here's "Idol's" early schedule (and a video preview below):

"AMERICAN IDOL" SEASON 10 SCHEDULE

(All times begin at 8:00 PM ET/PT)

Wednesday, Jan. 19 Season Premiere, Part 1
New York / New Jersey Audition Episode

Thursday, Jan. 20 Season Premiere, Part 2
New Orleans Audition Episode

Wednesday, Jan. 26 Audition Episode

Thursday, Jan. 27 Audition Episode

Wednesday, Feb. 2 Audition Episode

Thursday, Feb. 3 Audition Episode

Wednesday, Feb. 9 Audition Episode

Thursday, Feb. 10 Audition Episode

Wednesday, Feb. 16 Hollywood Round, Part 1

Thursday, Feb. 17 Hollywood Round, Part 2

Wednesday, Feb. 23 Las Vegas Round

Thursday, Feb. 24 Top 20 Semifinalists Announced

Tuesday, March 1 Semifinalists Perform

Wednesday, March 2 Semifinalists Perform

Thursday, March 3 First Results Show and Finalists Announced

By Lisa de Moraes  | January 11, 2011; 12:37 PM ET
Categories:  Winter TV Press Tour 2011  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   Del.icio.us   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: ABC renews sophomore sitcoms and some dramas
Next: 'American Idol' producer: "The audience votes -- there's nothing we can do."

No comments have been posted to this entry.

Post a Comment

We encourage users to analyze, comment on and even challenge washingtonpost.com's articles, blogs, reviews and multimedia features.

User reviews and comments that include profanity or personal attacks or other inappropriate comments or material will be removed from the site. Additionally, entries that are unsigned or contain "signatures" by someone other than the actual author will be removed. Finally, we will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or privacy policies or any other policies governing this site. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions.




characters remaining

 
 
RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2011 The Washington Post Company