Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
About this Blog   |   On Twitter   |   Follow us on Facebook   |   RSS Feeds RSS Feed

House Republicans Keep Bill Howell

Tim Craig

The results of today's House Republican leadership vote are in. And House Speaker William J. Howell (R-Stafford) will be keeping his job.

At a closed door meeting in Richmond, GOP delegates decided by acclamation to reelect Howell as speaker, a job he's held since 2002.

The delegation also decided to keep the rest of its current leadership team in place. Del. H. Morgan Griffith (R-Salem) will continue to serve as majority leader and Del. M. Kirkland "Kirk" Cox (R-Colonial Heights) will remain as majority whip, according to GOP officials.

Del. Terry G. Kilgore (R-Scott) also won another term as chairman of the House Republican Caucus.

The elections mean Del. Robert G. Marshall (R-Prince William) and other conservatives failed in their effort to remove Howell as speaker.

During the meeting, Marshall presented a resolution condemning Howell for being too secretive and too willing to consider tax increases, including the abusive driver fees.

"The House Republican Caucus has lost confidence in the policies of the present Republican Leadership, and request that a new policy direction be undertaken consistent with traditional Republican principles," the resolution stated.

By Tim Craig  |  November 18, 2007; 5:23 PM ET
Categories:  Election 2007 , Election 2009 , Fairfax County Chairman's Race 2007 , Tim Craig  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Delegate O'Bannon Responds to Blackburn
Next: Gilmore Enters Senate Race

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company