Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
About this Blog   |   On Twitter   |   Follow us on Facebook   |   RSS Feeds RSS Feed

Kaine Sets Special Election

Tim Craig

Gov. Timothy M. Kaine (D) today called for a special election Feb. 19 to fill the House of Delegates seat vacated after Robert J. Wittman, a Republican from Westmoreland County, was elected to Congress.

"Holding the special election on February 19th will provide a new delegate with the opportunity to participate meaningfully in the legislative session and to commence important constituent services promptly," Kaine said.

The election in the 99th District gives the Democratic minority in the House a chance for a pickup. The party now controls 44 of the 100 seats in the House.

Former delegate Albert C. Pollard Jr., a Democrat, has indicated he is likely to try to reclaim the seat he held from 2000 to 2005. Pollard narrowly lost a bid for state Senate this year.

The 99th includes all of King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Richmond and Westmoreland counties and part of Caroline County, comprised of the Bowling Green and Port Royal precincts and parts of the Mattaponi and Woodford precincts.

Wittman represented the district until he was elected to succeed the late U.S. representative Jo Ann Davis, a Republican, who died in October.

By Tim Craig  |  December 21, 2007; 1:46 PM ET
Categories:  Election 2007 , Tim Craig , Timothy M. Kaine  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Kaine Hits the Trail, Again, for Obama
Next: Winners and Losers


Elections two weeks in a row for voters in this district, with the Republican and Democrat Presidential primaries the Tuesday before.

Virginia - the state with more elections per person than any in the country.

Posted by: NoVA | December 21, 2007 4:43 PM | Report abuse

what a waste of money

Posted by: Anonymous | December 27, 2007 1:43 PM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company