Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
About this Blog   |   On Twitter   |   Follow us on Facebook   |   RSS Feeds RSS Feed

Hampton Roads Leaders Endorse Wagner

Anita Kumar

Several mayors and other local elected officials from Hampton Roads today endorsed former Finance Secretary Jody W. Wagner for lieutenant governor.

"Local governments across Virginia are facing tough times in this economic climate," Norfolk Mayor Paul Fraim said. "We need strong leaders in Richmond who can maintain the fiscal discipline and strong management we've grown accustomed to under Governors Warner and Kaine. Jody Wagner will be that kind of leader."

Wagner, a long time resident of Virginia Beach, served as Virginia treasurer under former governor Mark R. Warner (D) and as finance secretary under Gov. Timothy M. Kaine (D). She resigned earlier this year to run for lieutenant governor.

Wagner's main opponent for the Democratic nomination is Jon Bowerbank, a wealthy businessman from Russell County. A third possible candidate for the Democratic nomination for lieutenant governor, state Democratic Party Chairman C. Richard Cranwell, is not expected to make up his mind on whether to enter the race until after the Nov. 4 election.

Lt. Gov. Bill Bolling (R) is running for re-election.

Hampton Roads officials endorsing Wagner:

Mayor Paul Fraim, Norfolk
Mayor Joe Frank, Newport News
Mayor Molly Ward, Hampton
Treasurer Tom Moss, Norfolk (former Speaker, Virginia House of Delegates)
Commissioner of Revenue Phil Kellam, Virginia Beach
Commissioner of Revenue Ross Mugler, Hampton

By Anita Kumar  |  October 17, 2008; 7:33 PM ET
Categories:  Anita Kumar , Bill Bolling , Election 2009 , Mark Warner , Timothy M. Kaine  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Obama Leads McCain in Prince William County
Next: Veterans Groups Support Gilmore

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company