Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
About this Blog   |   On Twitter   |   Follow us on Facebook   |   RSS Feeds RSS Feed

McDonnell announces new ABC commissioners, other appointments

Anita Kumar

Republican Gov. Bob McDonnell has appointed Neal Insley and Wayne Ozmore to the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.

Insley, who will serve as chairman, previously served as special counsel at LeClair Ryan, where he was in charge of their hospitality law industry team. Ozmore served as senior criminal investigator in the attorney general's office.

The three ABC commission jobs are widely considered some of the most plum posts in all of state government. ABC commissioners make roughly $120,000 a year. The jobs are purely political appointments -- meaning they are often rewards for a long service to a party or governor.

We previously told you that Sandy Canada was appointed to the board. She served as a fundraiser for McDonnell and other Republicans and was an ABC commissioner for former Governor Jim Gilmore from 1998-2002.

That means all three commissioners appointed by former Democratic Gov. Tim Kaine are gone -- former Democratic Del. Frank Hall, former Creigh Deeds campaign manager Susan Swecker, and Bill Pantele, a former Richmond City Council member.

McDonnell is getting the board ready to make good on a campaign promise to privatize liquor stores. He expects to soon name the members of a commission on government reform who will work to find savings in government, including privatizing the stores.

The governor released the names of the new commissioners today as part of a lengthy list of appointments, though many have been been working for months and have been reported on this blog already.

Other new appointments include David Tyeryar as deputy secretary and chief financial officer for Secretary of Transportation Sean Connaughton. Tyeryar served as budget director for Prince William County for more than eight years, and before that was the county's accounting division chief for 10 years.

Paul Galanti, a former prisoner of war in Vietnam alongside U.S. Sen. John McCain, will serve as commissioner for the Department of Veterans Services.

See below for more appointments:

Randall Burdette will serve as Director of the Virginia Department of Aviation. Burdette spent his career in aviation serving as a senior army aviator for 24 years and flying general aviation aircraft for more than 35 years.

Christie Heath will serve as Deputy Secretary of the Commonwealth. Heath previously served in the Office of the Secretary of the Commonwealth under governors George Allen and Jim Gilmore.

Jim Hopper and Mike McAllister both will serve as deputy secretaries for commonwealth preparedness. Hopper served as Senior Assistant Attorney General and Chief of the Financial Law and Government Support Section, and Acting Deputy Attorney General for the STAG Division of the Office of the Attorney General. will serve as a deputy secretary for commonwealth preparedness. McAllister served as Critical Infrastructure Protection Coordinator for the Office of Commonwealth Preparedness and as Assistant Division Administrator, Operations and Security Division for the Virginia Department of Transportation.

Courtney Malveaux will serve as agency head for the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry. Previously Malveaux served as an Assistant Attorney General at the Office of the Attorney General of Virginia, enforcing state and federal consumer protection laws and representing the Office of the Attorney General on the Freedom of Information Advisory Council.

Jimmy Rhee will serve as assistant Secretary of commerce and trade. Rhee previously served as CEO of Global Technology Systems Consortium, a government consulting firm; and Cleverlearn, an Internet software technology firm that personalized the online language learning experience.

Peter Su of Vienna will serve as Director of the Department of Business Assistance. Su previously managed global business affairs at Afton Chemical.

Kathy Terry of Roanoke will serve as Director of Community Relations. Terry formerly worked for 12 years in the Roanoke regional Office of the Attorney General as the Community Outreach Coordinator.

Garth Wheeler of Urbanna will serve as Director of the Department of Criminal Justice Services. Wheeler previously served as Chief of Police and Security for the J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College Police Department and is a former president of the Virginia Fraternal Order of Police.

By Anita Kumar  |  March 25, 2010; 3:57 PM ET
Categories:  Anita Kumar , John McCain , Robert F. McDonnell , Timothy M. Kaine  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Dueling petitions on health care collect thousands of signatures
Next: Richmond police investigate shot fired at Cantor's office


SURELY, there must a place for Pat Robertson in Governor McJesus's administration.

Posted by: kinkysr | March 26, 2010 6:54 AM | Report abuse

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company