Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity
About this Blog   |   On Twitter   |   Follow us on Facebook   |   RSS Feeds RSS Feed

McDonnell announces members of economic development commission

Anita Kumar

Gov. Bob McDonnell announced the members of the Governor's Economic Development and Jobs Creation Commission, which he created through Executive Order Number One on inauguration day.

The commission will hold its first meeting next month and will complete its report Oct. 16.

Lt. Gov. Bill Bolling, the state's chief jobs creation officer, and Bob Sledd, the governor's senior economic adviser, will serve as co-chairmen. Members include Cabinet secretaries, legislators and a variety of influential business leaders from across the state.

"By looking for additional ways to make Virginia a more competitive state and invest in proven economic development and job creation programs, we can strengthen our reputation as the most pro-business state in America, and secure the capital investment and jobs we need to provide the people of Virginia with greater economic security," Bolling said in a statement.

The full list of members:

Jim Cheng, Secretary of Commerce and Trade
Todd Haymore, Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry
Lisa Hicks-Thomas, Secretary of Administration
Gerard Robinson, Secretary of Education
Ric Brown, Secretary of Finance
Doug Domenech, Secretary of Natural Resources
Jim Duffey, Secretary of Technology
Sean Connaughton, Secretary of Transportation
Don Banker, CEO & Owner Banker Steel, Lynchburg
Stephen E. Baril, Partner, Williams Mullen, Richmond
John F. Biagas, CEO, Bay Electric, Newport News
Tom Brock, Retired Vice President, General Electric, Roanoke
Del. Kathy J. Byron, Co-Owner of B&B Presentations, Bedford
Mel Chaskin, Chairman, Virginia-Israeli Advisory Board, Clifton
Christine Chmura, President and Chief Economist, Chmura Economics and Analytics, Richmond
Del. Barbara Comstock, McLean
Deborah M. DiCroce, President, Tidewater Community College, Chesapeake
Helen Dragas, President and CEO, the Dragas Companies, Virginia Beach
James W. Dyke, Partner, McGuireWoods LLP; Chairman, Greater Washington Board of Trade
Joe Funkhouser, President, Coldwell Banker and Funkhouser Realtors, Harrisonburg
Lisa Gable, Executive Director, Healthy Weight Commitment Foundation, Fauquier
Anne Gavin, State Government Affairs Regional Manager, Microsoft, Reston
Tom Godfrey, President, Colonna's Shipyard, Norfolk
Julia Hammond, State Director, National Federation of Independent Business, Richmond
Ann Heidig, President, Virginia Wineries Association, Spotsylvania
Mark Herzog, Executive Director, Virginia Biotechnology Association, Richmond
Del. Matthew James, Director, Peninsula Council for Workforce Development, Portsmouth
Donna Johnson, President, Virginia Agribusiness Council, Richmond
Kenneth S. Johnson, Founder, Johnson Inc., Richmond
Pat Jones, Vice-President and General Manager, Kings Dominion, Richmond
Quintin Kendall, Director of Government Affairs, CSX Transportation, Richmond
Del. Terry Kilgore, Chairman of the Tobacco Commission, Gate City
Andrea Kilmer, Vice President, ESG Enterprises, Virginia Beach
Randall Kirk, Senior Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Third Security, Radford
John Langlois, President, Tele-Video Productions, Virginia Beach
Bob Leber, Director, Education and Workforce Development, Northrop Grumman, Newport News
Chris Lloyd, Sr. Vice President and Director of Infrastructure and Economic Development, McGuireWoods Consulting, Richmond
Frank Longaker, President, National Business College, Roanoke
John Luke, CEO, MeadWestVaco Packaging, Richmond
Bengt Lundgren, Manager, Swedwood, Danville
Del. Danny Marshall, Danville, Small businessman
Mike Melo, President, ITA International, Newport News
Caren Merrick, Co-founder, Webmethods, Reston
Donna Morea, President, US, Europe and Asia, CGI and Chair, Northern Virginia Technology Council
Christofer Mowry, President, Babcock and Wilcox Nuclear Energy, Lynchburg
Dakshay Patel, Managing Member, American Enterprises, Richmond
Julien Patterson, CEO, Omniplex Worldwide, Chantilly
Sen. Phil Puckett, Vice President of Business Development for First Bank & Trust Company, Tazewell
Harold Pyon, Supervisory Patent Examiner, U.S. Department of Commerce, Patent and Trademark Office, Fairfax
Mike Quillen, Founder and CEO, Alpha Natural Resources, Abingdon
Daphne Reid, TV and Film Actor, Co-Owner, New Millennium Studios, Petersburg
Brenda Robinson, President and CEO, Environmental Solutions, Inc., Richmond
Richard Sharp, Managing Director, V-Ten Capital Partners, Richmond
Sudhakar Shenoy, Chairman and CEO, IMC, Fairfax
Bob Skunda, President and CEO, Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Richmond
Steve Smith, CEO, Food City, Bristol
Don a Storey, Owner, Quality Tech Services, President and CEO,, Norfolk
Bruce Thompson, CEO, Gold Key/PHR Resorts and Hotels, Virginia Beach
Fred Thompson, Chief Administrative Officer, Thompson Hospitality, Herndon
Brett Vassey, President and CEO, Virginia Manufacturers Association, Richmond
Sen. Frank Wagner, President and CEO, Davis Boat Works, Virginia Beach
Michel Zajur, President, Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Richmond

By Anita Kumar  |  April 19, 2010; 4:35 PM ET
Categories:  Anita Kumar  
Save & Share:  Send E-mail   Facebook   Twitter   Digg   Yahoo Buzz   StumbleUpon   Technorati   Google Buzz   Previous: Bolling stranded in Italy, likely to miss Wednesday's reconvene legislative session
Next: Governor's daughter to be crowned apple blossom queen

No comments have been posted to this entry.

The comments to this entry are closed.

RSS Feed
Subscribe to The Post

© 2010 The Washington Post Company